California Wheat Commission
Growers Industry Consumers
Home About Us Milling/Baking Lab CAWG News/Info Resources
printer friendly page
Wheat Commission to Conduct Grower Elections

Posted on 6/30/2010

Woodland, CA---In August 2010, the California Wheat Commission will conduct district elections for the positions of Commissioner and Alternate Commissioner for three California districts: District 3 - Napa, Sonoma, Yolo, Amador, El Dorado, Placer, Yuba, Nevada, Sutter, and Sierra Counties, and that portion of Sacramento County lying north of Road J-11 and east of the Sacramento River from Walnut Grove to Courtland, District 7 - Fresno County, and District 12 - that part of Imperial County lying north of Keystone Road. The four handler positions (two Commissioners and two Alternates) of the California Wheat Commission are also up for election this year. The Commission requires a written expression of interest by potential handler nominees (e-mail, fax, or letter). The term of office for Commissioners and their Alternates is three years.

Involvement in the California Wheat Commission enables California producers to take a more active role in national wheat organizations and wheat policymaking bodies. A qualified producer member or alternate is defined as any person who is engaged within this state in the business of producing wheat for market during any of the preceding three marketing seasons, and who must reside or conduct farming operations in the district in which the election is to be held.

Interested individuals are encouraged to contact the California Wheat Commission to obtain a nomination petition. To be included on the ballot, completed nomination petitions and handler expression of interest must be returned to the Commission no later than July 20, 2010.